top of page
Writer's pictureIlinca Moisa

THE DOUBLE-SPREADS

The making of these double-spreads took a lot of time, but I believe that it was definitely worth it.


THE PROCESS OF THE FIRST DOUBLE-SPREAD:

This double-spread was the one where I wanted to include my article. These are the 3rd and 4th pages, right after my table of contents. When writing the article, I wanted to achieve something inspiring, easy to read and something that would make the audience want to keep flipping through the magazine. I wrote the article as some sort of 'introduction' to my magazine and I believe that it turned out great. It took me about an hour to write it, since I felt inspired at that moment. I used the 'Minion' font to write it. For the title, I came up with a few different ones and ultimately decided on "Unleash your inner colours" since I felt like it described the theme of my magazine issue perfectly. I used the 'Brooke' font and the 'Caramella' font, which I both found online and downloaded. My main difficulty when creating this double-spread was its layout. I played around with title placement as well as image placement. I finally decided upon only having one big photo, in order to make the double-spread look sleek, elegant and airy. I also added the Sylk logo at the top of the page, as well as the name of this section in my magazine issue. (Each title in my table of contents represents a 'section' in the magazine.)

 

THE PROCESS OF THE SECOND DOUBLE SPREAD:


At first, I wasn't sure which photo to use on my right page, but ultimately decided upon one which I felt looked best. I then added the Sylk logo at the top of the page, as well as the name of this section in my magazine issue and the page number, just like I did in my other double-spread. Then, I went ahead and wrote on my right page where each of the clothing items were from and their prices (which I estimated since I couldn't remember all of them exactly), as well as other details regarding the photography, concept, models and set design. Although I wrote that Ana did the set design, I was the one who actually did it but, I thought that it would seem more 'magazine-like' if I had more people in the production process. I once again used the 'Minion' font. Then, I wrote 'beauty within' on top of the picture on the left, in order to add another interesting detail to the double-spread.

 

THE PROCESS OF MY THIRD DOUBLE SPREAD:


I started off by placing my images the way I felt looked best and then I added the Sylk logo at the top of the page, as well as the name of this section in my magazine issue and the page number, just like I did in my other double-spreads. Then, I used the 'Minion' font once again, in order to write where all the pieces of clothing were from and their prices (which I estimated since I couldn't remember all of them exactly), as well as other details regarding the photography, concept, models and set design.

 

THE FINAL DOUBLE-SPREADS:


This is a JPEG format of my double-spreads. Here you can see all of them side by side, on a grey background.


Overall, I am really happy with how these turned out and I am really excited to create the final mock-up of my magazine issue.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page