top of page
Writer's pictureIlinca Moisa

PLANNING FOR MY PRELIMINARY TASK

Updated: Dec 2, 2020

After finishing my preliminary photoshoot, I decided to take upon a new challenge: my preliminary task. My colleagues and I were told in class that it would be best to create something more commercial (such as a book cover, film poster, album cover, magazine cover etc.), which would challenge our creativity as well as our editing skills.

I spent quite some time choosing what project to do, but I finally came to a conclusion. I will be creating two book covers. I chose this particular task because I have always been passionate about reading and always knew how to appreciate a book cover design. I find it fascinating that book covers are a sneak peek at what the book is about and who the audience is.

Full of excitement for my task, I began to research the process of designing a book cover and to search tips and tricks for a successful outcome. Below you can see some book covers I studied, all in different styles.

While researching, I noticed some conventions and similarities of book covers. I looked at the front, the spine, the back and the flaps of the book. I will be designing only the front, therefore I focused more on that. The front cover has:

1. a title

2. a subtitle or quote

3. author name

4. descriptive artwork to accompany the genre

5. award label (such as 'best seller')


Next, I contemplated on what my book genre will be and eventually decided to design a fiction (romance) book cover and a non-fiction (handbook/guide) book cover. Since I had already done a photoshoot I decided to make the most of it and use some of the photos for my book covers.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page