top of page
Writer's pictureIlinca Moisa

FINAL SELECTION OF PHOTOS & THEIR EDITING PROCESS

Updated: May 20, 2021

Here you can see the final edited photos for Sylk Magazine, May 2021: The Inner Style Issue. All of these photos have a very similar editing and filter. In order to play with the vibrance, exposure, light, shadows and contrast of these photos I used Adobe Lightroom. I went for a very vibrant and warm edit for my photos, in order to bring out the colours.

For editing imperfections such as acne, removing certain things from the background, expanding the background and adding more definition to certain areas of the photos, I used two mobile phone apps called Snapseed and PicsArt. These apps allowed me to quickly perfect my photos and to make them look more professional, giving them a magazine-like feel. I also played around with Adobe Photoshop.

Below you can see the 'before' and 'after' of each photo which I chose to use in the making of my magazine.

 



THE FRONT COVER PHOTO:


before: after:

I chose this photo as my main image for my front cover since I believe it truly shows the emotion in the model's facial expression. It also attracts the audience's eye since the model is looking straight ahead, at the reader. I also love how the background is plain, so it brings out the model's features.




THE BACK COVER FOTO:


before: after:

The reason why I chose this photo for the back cover is because I wanted it to be different from the front cover one, in order to attract the audience's eye from all sides. I love the way in which the colours in this photo go with the one on the front cover. I also feel like it is a very aesthetically pleasing photo, which definitely makes the audience think of fashion and style.




THE TABLE OF CONTENTS PHOTOS:


before: after:

I chose these two photos since I really liked how unique and special both of them are. I feel like the first one would make the audience think of a very high- fashion editorial, and the second one would make them think of two girls, having fun. I believe that the second one would make the audience see themselves in the models, since the two are taking a selfie, while having fun.




THE FIRST DOUBLE-SPREAD PHOTO:


before: after:

My first double-spread will contain my article, therefore I wanted to have an image which is both simple and expressive. I love the colour palette in this photo and feel like it would attract the audience's eye a lot and make them want to read the article.




THE SECOND DOUBLE-SPREAD PHOTOS:

before: after:

I chose these two photos since I felt they were really unique and went really well together.




THE THIRD DOUBLE-SPREAD PHOTOS:

before: after:

I chose these two photos since I felt they were very unconventional, special and vibrant.



I really like the way these photos turned out and I am really excited to start creating my magazine !

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page