top of page
Writer's pictureIlinca Moisa

QUESTION 3: Development of production skills

Below you can see a comic which illustrates the answer to the third question: "How did your production skills develop throughout this project?". I created the comics using an online platform called StoryboardThat.

Feel free to expand the image and to zoom in on the text if needed !





Below you can read the basic, text format of my answer:



Before taking this AS Media Studies course, I had always loved magazines and dreamt of creating my own. But, I had no idea it would take so much time, effort and expertise.

The first step was creating my own blog, which I loved. It is a skill which I will definitely use in the future as well.

The ‘preliminary works’ part of this project helped me warm up for what was to come. I challenged myself towards shooting some high quality, unique photos and then creating two book covers with some of them. I chose to do this on a few apps on my phone since I had no knowledge of Adobe Photoshop or Adobe Illustrator at that time.

The next step, ‘research and planning’ taught me that in order to create something qualitative, I need to do a lot of research and to plan my tasks in order to make the most out of my time. I never would have thought that I would have to work so much before even starting the production process, but this helped me later on, since I had everything carefully planned out. I also learned that I have to look at a product from different perspectives, such as the client’s, in order to make sure that I am developing something which would attract my target audience towards buying it. The survey which I created along with my teammate, Ana, really helped me towards choosing my magazine issue’s title, topic and theme, as well as later on, in my creative process. I got to see what the audience wanted.

The ‘coursework development’ stage of this project took the most time and effort. I had never used Photoshop, Lightroom or Illustrator before, and I am very proud that I taught myself how to use these softwares. I found it very challenging at first and I kept wondering why so many people choose to work in these softwares. After some time of playing around and trying to figure them out, I started to really enjoy Photoshop and the many perks it comes with. Shortly after, I was loving the whole creative process of my magazine issue, even though I spent countless hours working. I am very proud of myself for learning how to create a magazine from scratch and for all of the effort and care I put into it. Also, I learned how to create successful photoshoots, which were time-efficient and resulted in many good photos. In order to achieve this, I tried to be spontaneous and think outside of the box. Moreover, I learned how to use my camera effectively, in order to get a very professional outcome.

I loved that this project was in part a team one and this helped me improve my teamwork skills tremendously. I believe that expressing your ideas and opinions is just as important as listening to someone else’s and taking them into consideration. Having a teammate meant that I could get helpful feedback and criticism all throughout, from the very beginning, which helped me evolve and improve my work.





8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page